Optometry Software in Canada: Options, Billing and Privacy
Five optometry systems compared for Canadian clinics: provincial billing, French support, PIPEDA and PHIPA privacy, data hosting and published prices.
Editor's picks
Optosys
Developed in Montreal for more than 40 years, now with a cloud version, one-click electronic lab orders and direct insurance billing.
Best for: Quebec and French-first optometry clinics, and Canadian practices that want a vendor built for the Canadian market.
Ocuco Acuitas 3
Charting, scheduling, dispensing, billing and patient messages in one system, with provincial billing and Canadian offices.
Best for: Ontario and multi-location practices that want EMR, dispensing, stock and provincial billing in one suite.
Visual-Eyes
Canadian owned and operated for over 25 years, with more than 400 client clinics across Canada by the vendor's count.
Best for: Canadian clinics that want to buy only the modules they need from a Canadian-owned vendor.
How we ranked these tools
Canada fit check
Provincial billing, private benefit claims, hosting location and French support checked against each vendor's own pages; where a page is silent we say so.
Price check
Each vendor's current published pricing recorded; where none is published we say so, and third-party figures are attributed.
Criteria scoring
Each system scored out of 10 on features (40%), ease of use (30%) and value (30%), weighted for a Canadian clinic that bills a provincial plan.
Editorial review
Scores are our editorial assessment from vendor documentation and public information, not user ratings. OptoSoft is our own product and is disclosed as such.
Scores are based on three dimensions: Features (~40%), Ease of use (~30%), Value (~30%).
Comparison table
| # | Tool | Category | Score | Visit |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 |
Optosys
Best Canadian-built
|
Quebec / bilingual | 8.3/10 | |
| 2 |
Ocuco Acuitas 3
Most complete suite
|
Canada / multi-location | 8.2/10 | |
| 3 |
Visual-Eyes
Modular Canadian pick
|
Alberta / modular | 8.1/10 | |
| 4 |
RevolutionEHR
Best browser-only EHR
|
Cloud EHR / US vendor | 8.0/10 | Review |
| 5 |
OptoSoft
Best value for optical retail
|
Retail-led / budget | 7.9/10 | Review |
For a Canadian optometry clinic, start with software set up for Canada: Optosys for Quebec and French-first practices, Ocuco Acuitas 3 for one large suite with provincial billing, or Visual-Eyes for a modular Alberta-built system. RevolutionEHR suits browser-only practices. OptoSoft, our own product, fits optical-retail-led businesses but does not submit provincial claims.
Most optometry software is built for the US, and a Canadian clinic finds out at the first claim. US systems assume Medicare, vision-plan billing and HIPAA. You need provincial billing for insured eye exams, a French interface if you practise in Quebec, and a clear answer on where patient records are stored. Three systems are built or set up for Canada: Optosys, Ocuco Acuitas 3 and Visual-Eyes. RevolutionEHR launched a Canadian edition, and OptoSoft serves Canadian optical businesses. Disclosure: OptoSoft is our own product, made by the company that runs this site. We scored it on the same criteria as the others, and it does not rank first here.
What Canadian Clinics Need That US Software Assumes Away
Every system on this list handles the basics: appointments, exam records, prescriptions, recalls and optical sales. Our guide to optometry practice management software covers those features in depth. In Canada, four further questions decide the shortlist.
Provincial billing for insured eye exams
Each province decides which eye exams its health plan pays for, and your software has to bill that plan. In Ontario, OHIP covers one major eye exam every 12 months for patients aged 19 and under. Patients aged 65 and over get one major exam every 18 months, plus two follow-up minor assessments. Adults aged 20 and over with an eligible condition, such as diabetes or glaucoma under treatment, are covered every 12 months. Other adults pay privately or claim from their benefits plan.
In Quebec, the RAMQ covers optometric services for patients under 18 and those aged 65 or over, with one complete exam a year. Adults aged 18 to 64 qualify only through a financial assistance claim slip.
Ontario claims go to the ministry electronically through Medical Claims Electronic Data Transfer (MC EDT), a secure file service that billing software connects to. Ask each vendor which provinces it bills directly, and whether it uses a billing agent in between. "We support provincial billing" is not an answer until the vendor names your province.
Private benefit claims
Most working-age patients pay for exams and eyewear through an employer benefits plan. Many Canadian insurers accept electronic claims through TELUS Health eClaims, which is free for optometrists and opticians to register with. Ask whether the software submits to eClaims from inside the patient record, or whether staff will re-key claims in a browser.
Privacy law and where your data lives
Canada has no HIPAA, and a US Business Associate Agreement does not satisfy Canadian law. Federally, PIPEDA governs how private-sector organisations handle personal information. The Privacy Commissioner lists Ontario, New Brunswick, Newfoundland and Labrador, and Nova Scotia as having health privacy laws declared substantially similar to PIPEDA. Ontario's is the Personal Health Information Protection Act, 2004 (PHIPA). Alberta, British Columbia and Quebec have their own private-sector privacy laws.
- Storing data outside Canada. PIPEDA does not prohibit transfers to a service provider in another country. You stay accountable for the records, wherever they are processed, so your contract must require comparable protection.
- Quebec. Since 22 September 2023, Law 25 has required a privacy impact assessment before personal information leaves Quebec, including to another province, according to McCarthy Tétrault's summary. A cloud system hosted in Ontario or the US triggers that assessment.
- Alberta. Optometrists are custodians under the Health Information Act, which sets duties for every employee and contractor who handles your records.
The practical test is simple. Ask every vendor, in writing, which country and province your data is stored in, who can access it, and what happens to it when you leave. Our comparison of cloud and server-based optometry EHR explains the security trade-offs that sit behind those answers.
English and French
A Quebec clinic needs a French interface, French patient forms and French reminders. A clinic in New Brunswick or eastern Ontario may need both languages at once. None of the US vendor pages we read mention French. Check the patient-facing side as well as the screens your staff use.
The Shortlist at a Glance
| Software | Based in | Provincial billing | French | Published price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Optosys | Montreal, Quebec | Insurance billing listed; confirm your province | French-first vendor with English site | Not published; Capterra lists from $179 a month per user |
| Ocuco Acuitas 3 | Canadian offices in Burnaby and Toronto | Provincial billing listed; its FAQ says yes when asked about OHIP | Not stated | On request |
| Visual-Eyes | Red Deer, Alberta | Not stated; invoicing module | Not stated | Not published |
| RevolutionEHR | United States; Canadian edition announced in 2013 | OHIP through Cab.MD (2013 announcement) | Not stated | Core plan $455; currency not stated |
| OptoSoft | India; serves Canadian customers | No; generates a claim form only | Yes, one of nine languages | US$399 per location a year; free records plan |
"Not stated" means the vendor's own pages did not say, not that the feature is missing. Prices are each vendor's current published figures. Our optometry software pricing guide lists the costs a quote leaves out, such as data conversion, training and hardware.
Optosys Pricing and Alternatives
Optosys is the name most Canadian optometrists already know, and many arrive here looking for its price or for something else. Optosys does not publish a price. Capterra lists a starting price of $179 a month per user, but does not say whether that is Canadian or US dollars, so treat it as a starting point for the conversation. The software is sold as packages or as separate modules, so your quote depends on what you switch on.
If you are leaving Optosys, the realistic alternatives are Acuitas 3 for a larger single suite, Visual-Eyes for a modular Canadian system, and RevolutionEHR if you want a browser-only EHR. Plan the data export before you sign anything; our guide on how to switch optometry EHR software covers what to request and in what order.
What About US Systems?
US suites such as Crystal PM and OfficeMate, Compulink and MaximEyes are strong products for the US market. None of their own pages we read describes provincial billing, Canadian hosting or a French interface. Crystal PM, for example, describes its customer base as US providers. Any of them may still sell in Canada, but ask for a reference clinic in your province before you book a demo.
How to Choose for Your Practice
- Quebec, or a French-first clinic: start with Optosys. It is built in Montreal, its site is French-first, and a vendor that already serves Quebec clinics should be ready for your Law 25 questions. Ask where the cloud version is hosted.
- Ontario, OHIP-heavy, several locations: start with Acuitas 3, which answers yes to OHIP billing in its FAQ and covers EMR, dispensing and stock in one system.
- Western Canada, modular budget: Visual-Eyes lets you buy only the modules you need, from a vendor based in Alberta.
- Browser-only, US-style EHR: RevolutionEHR, after you confirm its Canadian hosting and billing are still offered.
- Optical-retail-led business: if dispensing and frame sales drive your revenue and few exams are publicly insured, OptoSoft costs the least and handles the counter well.
How We Scored These Systems
Each system was scored out of 10 on features (40%), ease of use (30%) and value (30%), weighted for a Canadian optometry clinic that bills a provincial plan. The scores are our editorial assessment, based on each vendor's documentation, published pricing and public information. We did not run paid trials and did not use vendor-supplied ratings. OptoSoft is our own product and is left out of the rating structured data on this page.
Our Recommendation
For most Canadian optometry clinics, shortlist Optosys and Acuitas 3, then add Visual-Eyes if you want to buy by module. Choose Optosys if French matters or you practise in Quebec. Choose Acuitas 3 if you want one large suite with OHIP billing named by the vendor. Consider OptoSoft only if your business is led by optical retail rather than insured exams. Whatever you pick, get the province, the hosting location and the exit terms in writing. Then read our optician software comparison if your dispensary needs its own system.
Sources
- Optosys: clinic management software
- OSI Group: Optosys management software
- Ocuco: Acuitas 3 for Canada
- Visual-Eyes: optometry practice software
- RevolutionEHR: solution for Canadian optometrists (2013)
- RevolutionEHR: pricing
- OptoSoft: pricing
- Government of Ontario: what OHIP covers
- RAMQ: optometric services
- Office of the Privacy Commissioner: provincial laws that may apply instead of PIPEDA
- Office of the Privacy Commissioner: processing personal data across borders
The 5 best options, reviewed
Optosys
Best for: Quebec and French-first optometry clinics, and Canadian practices that want a vendor built for the Canadian market.
Standout feature: Developed in Montreal for more than 40 years, now with a cloud version, one-click electronic lab orders and direct insurance billing.
Optosys is made by OSI Group (Groupe SOI) in Montreal, which says it has developed the system for more than 40 years with independent optometrists and suppliers. It covers paperless exams, scheduling, patient files, inventory with QR-code labels, online booking, and fax, email and SMS from inside the software. Eyeglass and contact lens orders go to partner labs electronically, and claims can be billed directly to the patient's insurer. A cloud version is now available. Its pages do not name RAMQ or OHIP or say where the cloud version is hosted, so confirm both in the demo.
Pros
- Built in Canada for Canadian clinics
- French-first vendor with an English version
- Electronic lab and supplier orders
- Sold as packages or individual modules
- Cloud version with remote access
Cons
- No published price
- Vendor pages do not name the provinces it bills
- Hosting location of the cloud version not stated
Ocuco Acuitas 3
Best for: Ontario and multi-location practices that want EMR, dispensing, stock and provincial billing in one suite.
Standout feature: Charting, scheduling, dispensing, billing and patient messages in one system, with provincial billing and Canadian offices.
Ocuco markets Acuitas 3 to Canadian optometrists as one system for charting, scheduling, dispensing, billing and patient communications. It lists provincial billing, and its Canadian FAQ answers yes when asked about OHIP. Ocuco states ISO 27001 and SOC 2 Type II certification, offers cloud hosting, and runs Canadian offices in Burnaby and Toronto. Reporting uses Power BI. The pages we read do not mention French or where Canadian data is hosted, and no price is published.
Pros
- Deepest feature set on this list
- Provincial billing listed, OHIP confirmed in FAQ
- ISO 27001 and SOC 2 Type II certified
- Canadian offices in Burnaby and Toronto
Cons
- No published pricing
- French support not stated
- More to learn than a modular system
Visual-Eyes
Best for: Canadian clinics that want to buy only the modules they need from a Canadian-owned vendor.
Standout feature: Canadian owned and operated for over 25 years, with more than 400 client clinics across Canada by the vendor's count.
Visual-Eyes is built by a Red Deer, Alberta company that says it is trusted by more than 400 clinics across Canada. Its modular system covers invoicing, scheduling, dispensing, contact lenses, examination, file linking and online forms. The dispensing module connects to practice equipment and external labs, with order tracking and prescription import. Data conversion, training and multi-location setup are offered as services. The site does not state provincial billing, French support, hosting or price.
Pros
- Canadian owned and operated for over 25 years
- Buy only the modules you need
- Lab integration and order tracking
- Data conversion and training offered
Cons
- No published pricing
- Provincial billing and French not stated
- Cloud or local hosting not stated
RevolutionEHR
Best for: Independent practices that want a browser-only optometry EHR and can confirm its Canadian edition is still offered.
Standout feature: A 2013 Canadian edition with OHIP claims through Cab.MD, Canadian data hosting and CAD billing.
RevolutionEHR is a cloud-only optometry EHR from the US. In 2013 it announced a Canadian edition with patient data hosted in a Canadian data centre, subscriptions billed in Canadian dollars, Ontario billing codes, and OHIP claims through a partnership with Cab.MD, with other provinces to follow. Its current pricing page lists a Core plan at $455 and exam- or optical-only locations from $319, without naming the currency. Its current site does not repeat the Canadian details, so get them confirmed before you sign.
Pros
- Cloud-native, nothing to install
- Clean, easy exam workflow
- Canadian hosting and CAD billing announced in 2013
- OHIP claims through Cab.MD
Cons
- Canadian details date from 2013
- Provinces beyond Ontario not confirmed
- French support not stated
OptoSoft
Best for: Canadian optical businesses where dispensing and eyewear sales drive revenue and few exams are publicly insured.
Standout feature: US$399 per location a year with unlimited users, a free records plan, and French among nine interface languages.
OptoSoft is our own product, made by the company that runs this site. It records exam findings and spectacle and contact lens prescriptions, then ties them to optical POS billing, barcode frame and lens stock, and WhatsApp or SMS reminders. It runs in the browser and costs US$399 per location a year with unlimited users. For a Canadian clinic the gaps matter: it does not submit provincial or electronic insurance claims, it generates a claim form instead, and its pages do not state where data is hosted. Lab orders go by Web-API integration, email or WhatsApp. It includes accounting, but not balance-sheet creation or payroll.
Pros
- Lowest published price here
- Unlimited users on paid plans
- French among nine interface languages
- Prescription-linked POS and barcode stock
Cons
- No provincial or electronic insurance claim submission
- Hosting location not stated
- No payroll or balance-sheet creation
Frequently asked questions
Tools featured in this list
Showing 5 sources.